Leadership

UNMC Leadership

Disciplined, strategic and visionary. UNMC leaders are committed to advancing the quality of life in Nebraska and beyond.

This diverse group, which represents all corners of the United States and the world, ensures that UNMC’s research, education and patient care rank among the best. Through collaboration and strategic goals, challenges are faced and conquered.

 

Jeffrey P. Gold, M.D.

Chancellor

GoldJeffrey P. Gold, MD, is a board certified thoracic surgeon specializing in adult and pediatric cardiac surgery who currently holds the position of chancellor at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. He is a nationally recognized leader and tireless advocate for transforming academic medical education.

Dr. Gold graduated from the Cornell University College of Engineering, where he majored in theoretical and applied mechanics. He earned his M.D. from the Weill Cornell College of Medicine then completed his general surgery residency at the New York Hospital and Memorial Hospital where he served as the administrative chief resident. His cardiothoracic residency training took place at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital and the Boston Children’s Hospital of Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Gold became chancellor of UNMC in February, 2014, and as UNMC’s chief executive officer, he is responsible for all aspects of campus administration including its annual operating budget of more than $640 million, its staff of about 5,000 and its 3,600 students. Dr. Gold currently serves on over 50 professional committees and over 100 national organizations, volunteer boards, and government/public health councils.

Prior to joining UNMC, Dr. Gold served as Chancellor of the University of Toledo’s health science campus. Dr. Gold also served at the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and the Weill Cornell Medical College before his position at the University of Toledo.

Don Leuenberger

Vice Chancellor for Business & Finance

leuenberger_webLeuenberger is the vice chancellor for business and finance, a position he’s held since 1988.

In his role, he oversees the facilities, finance, information technology and human resources of UNMC, while leading the development and implementation of new infrastructure.

Leuenberger also serves as the chancellor’s office representative to the UNMC Physicians board of directors and chairs UNMC’s technology transfer arm, UNeMed. He and his UNMC Business and Finance team are forging new paths in green technology, facility upgrading, information technology and infrastructure development.

Throughout the past 30 years, Leuenberger has held various leadership positions in Nebraska state government including state budget director and state tax commissioner. He was assistant vice president and director of computing for the University of Nebraska Central Administration from 1983 to 1987.

In 1995, Leuenberger was asked to direct the Department of Social Services and to lead the restructuring of the state’s five health and human services agencies. He returned to his post at UNMC in late 1997.

James Armitage, M.D.

Professor, Internal Medicine – Division of Hematology & Oncology

armitageJames Armitage, MD, is a globally recognized leading expert on non-Hodgkin lymphoma and played a critical role in advancing bone marrow transplantation. He is currently a professor at the University of Nebraska Medical Center’s Department of Internal Medicine as the Joe Shapiro Distinguished Chair of Oncology.

Dr. Armitage developed and directed the bone marrow transplant programs at the University of Iowa and later at UNMC. The program at UNMC was one of the first to focus on autologous transplantation: a process that involves storing a patient’s bone marrow stem cells so that the cells can be reintroduced after chemotherapy. This helps patients tolerate higher doses of chemotherapy while reducing rates of complications after a patient receives donor bone marrow.

Dr. Armitage graduated from and completed his internship and residency at UNMC in 1973. He has also served as vice chair of internal medicine, chief of the section of oncology and hematology, chair of the Department of Internal Medicine, and dean of the College of Medicine at UNMC. He currently serves on several national and international committees and has held many leadership roles for hematology and oncology associations including president of ASBMT and president of ASCO.

Dr. Jialin Zhang

Professor – Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Neuroscience

ZhengJialin Zheng, MD, received his medical degree from Xuzhou Medical College in China and is a professor of pharmacology and experimental neuroscience at the University of Nebraska Medical Center as well as the director of UNMC’s Asia-Pacific Rim Development Program (APRDP).

Dr. Zheng and his team have helped UNMC forge more than 10 partnerships with Chinese institutions which has allowed for the formation of the first joint U.S./Chinese MD/PhD program, research collaborations in lymphoma and other diseases, as well as other advancements in global medicine. In 2004, he was able to serve Nebraska Governor Mike Johanns on a trade mission to China as an interpreter and contact.

Along with his professorship and position in the APRDP program, Dr. Zheng serves UNMC as a graduate faculty and fellow in the Department of Pathology and Microbiology, as chief of neurotoxicology and biochemistry at the Center for Neurovirology and Neurodegenerative Disorders, and as a faculty advisor for the Chinese student and scholar association. Dr. Zheng currently is a member of numerous councils and societies including the American Society for Microbiology, the American Society for Neuroscience, and the International Society for NeuroVirology.

Kai Fu, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor – Director of Hematopathology Fellowship

fuKaiKai Fu, MD, PhD, is an associate professor at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in the Department of Pathology and Microbiology.

His education and research has focused on hematopathology and lymphoma. In 2009, Dr. Fu received the Clinical Investigator Career Development Award to support his mantle cell lymphoma research with hopes of identifying potential therapeutic targets.

Dr. Fu graduated Pre-Med from Nan Kai University in Tianjin, China and received his medical degree at Tianjin Medical University in 1990.

Dr. Fu continued his education in the US and earned a PhD in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in 1997 which he followed with a pathology residency at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He then completed the Surgical Pathology Fellowship in 2002 at the University of Alabama at Birmingham followed by the Hematopathology Fellowship from 2002-2004 at UNMC. Dr. Fu is now the director of UNMC’s Hematopathology Fellowship.

Deb Thomas

Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Business Services

deb-thomasDeborah Thomas joined the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 2006 and serves as Senior Associate Vice Chancellor for Business and Finance. She is an active supporter of UNMC’s China programs and activities. She is the legal representative of UNeMed China.

In her position, she oversees the finance and business infrastructure for the campus including: general accounting, sponsored programs accounting, purchasing and materiel services; recycling; student housing; mail services; printing, risk management; real estate rental and acquisition; and the campus bookstore. She serves as the shareholder representative of UNeMed, chairs the Cancer Center Development Corporation Finance Committee and is a member of the Medical Center Development Corporation.

Before joining UNMC, Thomas spent seven years as the Assistant Vice President for Administration for the University of Nebraska, Central Administration. Her career also includes over 20 years in state government including serving as Policy Secretary for the Nebraska Health and Human Services System, Director of the Department of Administrative Services and Director of several individual agencies within the Health and Human Services System, including Medicaid. She also served as Committee Counsel for the Nebraska Legislature as well as lobbying for the City of Lincoln.

Thomas graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree from Illinois State University and earned a Master of Public Administration from the University of Nebraska.

Dr. Michael Dixon

President and CEO of the UNeMed Corporation

dixonMichael Dixon, PhD, is president and CEO of UNeMed Corporation, a for-profit company that fosters partnerships between the researchers at the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) and the industry’s entrepreneurs and investors to simplify the commercial development of new technologies that have the potential to improve public health.

After earning Bachelor of Science degrees in chemistry and biology from Northern State University, Dr. Dixon joined UNMC’s Eppley Institute for Research in Cancer and Allied Diseases in 1998 researching molecular biology, genetics, and biochemistry. In 2003, he transitioned from the bench side of science to the business side by becoming the faculty liaison/technology transfer associate in the Intellectual Property Office (IPO). Three years later, Dr. Dixon became IPO director.

In 2007, Dr. Dixon helped facilitate the merger of the IPO and UNeMed, creating a single technology development and commercialization entity of which he was Vice President and Chief Operating Officer until 2009. Dr. Dixon has since served as president and CEO of UNeMed setting the company’s strategic path and directing its efforts to protect, market, and license new technology. Dr. Dixon continues to be an active member of the community serving on several boards including the Board of Directors for Bio Nebraska and Invest Nebraska. He is also a member of the Association of University Technology Mangers (AUTM), the Licensing Executives Society (LES), and the Association for Corporate Growth (ACG).

DJ Thayer

Director of International & Domestic Affairs for UNeMed & UNMC

dj-thayerD.J. Thayer joined the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC) in June, 2014. D.J. serves as the Director of International and Domestic Business Affairs for Business and Finance Department of UNMC.

In D.J.’s position, he oversees the business operations and business infrastructure for UNMC’s office in Shanghai, China, as well as domestic business affairs in Nebraska. Dr. Bo Han handles day-to-day operations of the office in China, with D.J. responsible for the overall strategic direction of the China office. D.J. is an active supporter of UNMC’s China program and activities, and he serves on the committee for international telemedicine within UNMC.

Before joining UNMC, D.J. served as president of infoUSA (NASDAQ:IUSA) for more than a decade, where he was also responsible for international business sales operations. Prior to that, he served as senior vice president and general manager of infoUSA’s health and vertical markets. D.J. served as a manager with US West, Inc., (NYSE: USW) after receiving his MBA from Auburn University. D.J. also worked from Congresswoman Virginia Smith in the United States House of Representatives handling Agriculture, the 1990 Farm Bill, and Foreign Trade.

Thayer graduated with a Bachelor’s degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, and he earned a Master’s of Business Administration from Auburn University.

尤力迈健康咨询(上海)有限公司

中国(上海)自由贸易试验区华京路2号三联大厦南楼609室

UNMC / UNeMed Health Consulting Shanghai, LTD

Sanlian Mansion South Block, Room 609
No. 2 Huajing Road
Pilot Free Trade Zone
Shanghai, China
Zip Code 200131

Connect With Us
Youku Weibo WeiXin
沪ICP备15002138号
© UNMC China 2015

领导者

UNMC的领导者

UNMC中国由中美精英组成的顶级团队带领,兼具首屈一指的专业素养和高瞻远瞩的战略眼光。 UNMC一流的教育、科研、和对患者的服务正缘自他们的追求和努力。精密的战略部署和紧密的团队合作是他们不断克服挑战创造成功的秘诀。

杰弗瑞•戈尔德

校长

Gold杰弗瑞•P•戈尔德,医学博士,心胸外科专业认证医生,擅长成人及儿童心脏外科手术。现任美国内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心校长。在医学教育改革方面,他也是全美公认的卓越领袖及不懈倡导者。

戈尔德医生毕业于康奈尔大学工程学院,主修机械理论及应用学。在康奈尔大学维尔医学院获得医学博士学位后,他在纽约医院接受普外科培训,并在纪念医院担任行政总住院一职。之后,他在哈佛大学医学院附属布莱根与妇女医院和波士顿儿童医院完成心胸科培训。

戈尔德医生于2014年2月就任美国内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心校长。中心有约5000名教职员工和3600多名学生。同时,作为中心的首席执行官,戈尔德医生全面负责该校的行政管理事务,并统筹管理每年超过6亿4千美元的预算。与此同时,戈尔德医生还任职于50多个专业委员会,超过100个全国性组织、志愿者联盟、以及国家级公共卫生委员会。

在加入美国内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心之前,古尔德博士曾任托莱多大学健康科学院校长,在此之前,他也在艾尔伯特•爱因斯坦医学院及康奈尔大学维尔医学院工作。

 

唐•卢恩伯格

UNMC常务校长 – 运营与财务

leuenberger_web卢恩伯格自1988年起开始担任美国内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心副校长,负责学校商业和财政事务。他的职责包括统筹学校设施、财政、信息技术服务,人力资源管理,从而进一步带领学校的发展以及新的基础设施建设。

卢恩伯格作为校长办公室代表,任职于医学中心医师协会委员会,也是医学中心技术转换公司UNeMed的高层领导。他所领导的学校商业和财政部门在推动学校绿色科技、设施升级、信息技术服务和基础设施建设的提高方面做出了不懈的努力和尝试。

在过去30年间,卢恩伯格在内布拉斯加州政府中也担任过多个领导职位,包括财政预算总长,以及州税务委员。1983年到1987年之间,他担任内布拉斯加州立大学协理副校长及中央行政处计算机信息处理部门的总监。1995年,卢恩伯格被州政府聘为社会服务部部长,并指导州内五处健康及社会服务社的重建。卢恩伯格于1997年回到内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心任职。

 

詹姆斯•阿米塔基——巴菲特肿瘤中心

教授,UNMC内科医学系 – 血液学和肿瘤学方向

armitage詹姆斯•阿米塔基,医学博士,是一位在全球享有盛誉的非霍奇金淋巴瘤方向学科带头人,在骨髓移植治疗方面也是业界翘楚。他现在任职于内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心大内科肿瘤科名誉主任。

阿米塔基医生先后在爱荷华大学和内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心开展并主持骨髓移植项目。他在内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心所主持的骨髓移植 项目是首批注重自体移植的项目:尝试保存患者自身的骨髓干细胞,并于化疗后重新植入。这种方式能够使患者耐受更大剂量的化疗,并降低病人在接受骨髓植入后发生并发症的几率。

阿米塔基医生1973年于内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心完成实习及住院医师培训。他也曾在母校担任内科医学副主任、肿瘤及血液学科主任,大内科主任,以及医学院院长。他目前也服务若干国内外组织,并担任多个肿瘤与血液学学会的领导职务,其中包括美国血液与骨髓移植学会(ASBMT)和美国临床肿瘤学会(ASCO)的主席。

 

郑加麟

教授,UNMC药理学与实验神经科学系

Zheng郑加麟,医学博士,毕业于中国徐州医学院,现任内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心药学与实验神经学教授,兼任校亚太地区合作发展部主任。

十年来,郑博士带领他的团队致力于与中国院校机构建立合作关系,促成了第一个中美合作的临床/科研医学博士学位项目、中美淋巴瘤等疾病合作研究等国际医学合作项目的达成。2004年,他在内布拉斯加州州长麦克•约翰斯访华进行贸易商谈期间,为其担任翻译和联络官。

除了在亚太地区合作发展部任职之外,郑博士也兼任病理学及微生物学部研究生导师及研究员,神经病毒学及神经退行性疾病中心神经毒理学和生物化学处主任,以及中国学生学者联合会的指导教师。郑博士是多个重要学会的成员,其中包括美国微生物学会、美国神经科学学会以及国际神经病毒学学会。

 

傅凯

教授、研究员, UNMC病理学与微生物学系 – 血液病理学方向

fuKai傅凯,临床/理论医学博士,现任内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心病理学与微生物学学院副教授,主要研究方向为血液病理学及淋巴瘤。2009年,傅博士获得临床研究学者事业发展奖,在该奖项的支持下开始进行套细胞淋巴瘤研究,以期发现新的治疗方向。

傅博士在天津南开大学完成医科预科学习,1990年获得天津医科大学医学学位。傅博士随后在美国继续深造,1997年于堪萨斯州立大学医学院获得生物化学和分子生物学博士学位,并在伯明翰的阿拉巴马州立大学完成病理学住院医师培训。他于2002年在伯明翰阿拉巴马州立大学完成了外科病理学专科培训。2002至2004年,在内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心完成血液病理学专科培训。傅博士现任内布拉斯加医学中心血液病理学专科项目主任。

 

黛博拉•托马斯

UNMC副校长 – 财务与商业服务

deb-thomas黛博拉•托马斯自2006年始任内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心商业与财政部门的高级总监。她是该校中国合作项目的积极支持者,也是尤力迈健康咨询(上海)有限公司的法定代理人。

黛博拉•托马斯负责学校财政与商务运营架构,包括校内常规及赞助教研项目的会计、采购以及物资服务,房地产租赁及收购,风险管理等等。她也是UNeMed股东代表,肿瘤中心开发公司财务委员会主席,还是医学中心开发公司的成员。

黛博拉•托马斯在伊利诺斯州立大学获得理学学士学位,并在内布拉斯加州立大学取得公共管理硕士学位。她曾有二十年在州政府工作的经历,历任行政服务部主任、内布拉斯加医疗与公共服务系统政策秘书长、并领导该系统内数个独立行政部门。她也曾任内布拉斯加立法机构的委员会顾问,并曾是林肯市游说团体的一员。在加入内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心之前,她曾在内布拉斯加州立大学中央行政部门任助理行政副校长达七年之久。

 

迈克尔•迪克森

尤力迈(UNeMed)公司总裁和首席执行官

dixon_michael迈克尔•迪克森博士,UNeMed公司的总裁及首席执行官。UNeMed是一家通过联动UNMC研究人员、商界企业及研发机构密切合作,致力于将创新技术的商业化,并有效应用于提升公共医疗服务水平的盈利性企业。

在北方州立大学获得化学及生物学学士学位后,迪克森博士于1998年进入内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心艾普里肿瘤及相关疾病研究所,研究分子生物学、遗传学以及生物化学。2003年,他转而从科研向商务方向发展,在知识产权办公室负责学科联络及技术转让。三年后,迪克森博士成为该办公室主任。

2007年,迪克森博士参与了知识产权办公室和UNeMed公司的合并,并创建了一个主要专注于技术发展及商业转化的公司。迪克森博士于2009年前一直担任该公司副总裁及首席运营官,随后便就任公司总裁及首席执行官,制定公司发展战略,致力于申请、保护并推广新技术。迪克森博士一直热心公共服务,现任Bio Nebraska和Invest Nebraska等协会委员。他同时也是美国大学科技经理人协会(AUTM)、国际许可贸易工作者协会(LES)以及美国企业成长协会(ACG)的会员

 

D.J.赛耶

尤力迈和UNMC本土及海外商务部总监

dj-thayerD.J.赛耶于2014年6月加入内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心,在商业与财务部门任美国本土及海外商务总监。

赛耶负责制定商务运营架构,美国本土以及在中国上海的公司运营及商务事宜。赛耶全面负责在华公司的战略发展,并在韩波博士的协助下管理在华公司的日常运营。赛耶是内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心中国合作项目的热心支持者,他也参与学校国际远程医疗委员会的工作。

赛耶在内布拉斯加州立大学林肯分校获得学士学位,并在奥本大学获得工商管理学硕士。随后他在上市公司US West任经理,并为美国众议院议员Virginia Smith提供农业、外贸等方面的咨询,并协助她处理1990年农业法订立事宜。在加入内布拉斯加州立大学医学中心之前,赛耶还曾在infoUSA公司任医疗与纵向市场部分的副总裁及总经理,长达12年之久,由此积累了丰富的国际商务及销售方面的经验。

尤力迈健康咨询(上海)有限公司

中国(上海)自由贸易试验区华京路2号三联大厦南楼609室

UNMC / UNeMed Health Consulting Shanghai, LTD

Sanlian Mansion South Block, Room 609
No. 2 Huajing Road
Pilot Free Trade Zone
Shanghai, China
Zip Code 200131

Connect With Us
Youku Weibo WeiXin